Suffering + Rescue: Part 2

Here goes part 2 of suffering + rescue.

Rescue. First let’s break down the word into it’s two root words. Res and cue….
ok that was a bad joke. Let’s try again.

Rescue. What does that word make you think of? When I hear the word rescue it’s all I can do not to smile. The idea of rescue is full of comfort, of relief, of hope.

After talking in my last entry about suffering and what it means, I knew it was incomplete without exploring rescue. Because the truth is, we don’t have to suffer forever. Rescue is coming; rescue is here. Rescue is the moment that allows us to be freed from our pain, and even if just for a second rise above it.

I like to picture a helicopter rescuing people from some traumatic and dangerous situation. Once they get into the safe helicopter, they are lifted high above the danger. They have that moment of a deep breath and sigh of relief….that moment where they can glance down at whatever hell they’ve been through and feel a wave of relief rush over their bodies, minds, and souls.

Imagine yourself in the midst of suffering. Maybe you don’t have to imagine…maybe that’s where you are right now. Then picture this bulletproof, crash-proof helicopter coming to sweep you up high above the pain and take you somewhere safe and full of comfort. What a sweet relief that would be.

The reality is that the helicopter is waiting. It’s ready to come get you. I’m not saying that you simply say the word and all suffering ends, but often we feel forever trapped in a cycle of guilt, pain, shame, you name it. It seems endless and it doesn’t seem like a helicopter could even find it’s way into our pit of despair to lift us out of it. But those are lies. Because rescue is completely real.

I am living proof that rescue is possible. I have found myself in possibly the darkest place I could ever have been- inches from death. But that was years ago, and no matter how trapped I feel in my dark pit, I remember how a helicopter came and swept me out of that darkest place and I was brought to safety. If you don’t believe in rescue, please email me or comment and I can give you at least a hundred examples from my own life of rescue.

The best part of all this is the Rescuer himself. The one in charge of the helicopters; the one who knows exactly where and when to send them. His name is Jesus. How often do we forget who the greatest Rescuer is? Too often.

There’s a song I love called, well, “Rescue” of course. The chorus goes:

I need you, Jesus, to come to my rescue.
Where else would I go?
There’s no other name by which I am saved.
Capture me with grace. I will follow you.

Now let me tell you what’s absolutely beautiful about this. First of all, we’ve already been captured with grace. Capture is another strong word. You’ve been completely captured with grace. For free. It’s not like you’ve been captured with grace for a discount…there’s no special coupon. It’s so unbelievably freely given to anyone who wants it.

The second part of this that’s beautiful is that the writer has come to this awesome conclusion that he has been looking in all the completely wrong places for rescue. Maybe he looked to other brothers and sisters, maybe he looked to mentors, to self-help books, or to Rx drugs or alcohol. Maybe he looked to fame. The point is, he realized that those things didn’t save him. Those things didn’t capture him with grace. So then he comes to this Aha! moment and says “Where else would I go? There’s NO OTHER name by which I am saved.” It’s beautiful that he has found the right place to look for rescue. I believe a helicopter comes at this point in the song.

We can’t save ourselves. Our friends can’t rescue us. Our church leaders can’t rescue us. There’s no name other than JESUS by which we are saved. He alone can rescue us from the darkness we face.

“No amount of determination will bring freedom. We’re going to learn to be victorious by
surrendering our lives completely to the Spirit of God, not by gritting our teeth and trying
harder. ” – Beth Moore, Breaking Free

Here’s the best part. Proof that Jesus came to be our Rescuer. He’s the one who sends the helicopter.

‘The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me,
because the LORD has anointed me
to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim freedom for the captives
and release from darkness for the prisoners,[a]
to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor
and the day of vengeance of our God,
to comfort all who mourn,
and provide for those who grieve in Zion—
to bestow on them a crown of beauty
instead of ashes,
the oil of joy
instead of mourning,
and a garment of praise
instead of a spirit of despair.
They will be called oaks of righteousness,
a planting of the LORD for the display of his splendor.
They will rebuild the ancient ruins
and restore the places long devastated;
they will renew the ruined cities
that have been devastated for generations.’ Isaiah 61:1-4

He came to rescue. We don’t like to live in suffering. Let’s surrender our lives completely to the Spirit of God, and allow him who has captured us with grace to rescue us.

Peace and love.

Please feel free to comment with your own thoughts on suffering + rescue. Thanks guys.



Leave a comment for LJ.

