Music Post: Skyscraper

I want to share another song with you. This one means a lot to me because it gave me the courage I desperately needed to get through a very dark and difficult time in my life. It came out one year ago today, and so it’s only appropriate that I share it with you on its 1 year anniversary.

When I heard the song the first time I was floored. To know what Demi Lovato has been through and to hear her make this public declaration of “I’m still standing” was amazing. I can relate to Demi’s story in a number of ways. We have some similar struggles and actually went to the same residential treatment center. I hadn’t really thought about how, despite all I have been through, I am strong…until I heard this song.

Like I said, the song is amazing. But the music video is completely real, raw, and beautiful. I read somewhere that it took 12 hours to film (not sure how reliable the source was), and I can only imagine how difficult it must have been to film/perform such an intensely emotional song. But I can’t even express how thankful I am that Demi decided to record this song and pour so much of herself into it. It’s inspiring and it gives me hope.

you can watch the video here: http://www.vevo.com/watch/demi-lovato/skyscraper/USH5V1121283

The Lyrics:
Skies are crying, i am watching
catching teardrops in my hands
only silence, as its ending, like we never had a chance. Do you have to make me feel like there’s nothing left of me?

You can take everything i have
you can break everything i am
like i’m made of glass
like i’m made of paper
go on and try to tear me down
i will be rising from the ground
like a skyscraper, like a skyscraper

As the smoke clears
i awaken and untangle you from me
would it make you feel better to watch me while i bleed
all my windows still are broken but i’m standing on my feet

You can take everything i have
you can break everything i am
like i’m made of glass
like i’m made of paper
go on and try to tear me down
i will be rising from the ground
like a skyscraper, like a skyscraper

Go run run run i’m gonna stay right here
watch you disappear yeah
go run run run yeah it’s a long way down
but i’m closer to the clouds up here

You can take everything i have
you can break everything i am
like i’m made of glass
like i’m made of paper
ohh
go on and try to tear me down
i will be rising from the ground
like a skyscraper, like a skyscraper
like a skyscraper, like a skyscraper
like a skyscraper

When the world takes everything you have and breaks everything you are, be brave. Rise from the ground like a skyscraper. You are strong, whether you know it or not.

Be brave, and love this life we are given.

Much love to you all.

Leave a comment for LJ.

