Music Post: Dissonance

I know a good song when I hear one. And I want to tell you about a good song.

A friend of mine is a talented composer, writer, lyricist, and singer. She’s really great at it. She wrote a song called Dissonance, which I am currently obsessed with, and I’ve posted the song and lyrics below. I can relate to this song in numerous ways, but I won’t go into all of them here because I’m trying to make this post brief.

But I will say that in the phase of life I’m in right now, these words totally could have been my own.

“I want to be more
I don’t want to be me right now
But I don’t know what I want”

 

Anyways, without further ado, here is the song – Dissonance by INTR featuring Nuria

 

I do not own this image.

Dissonance – INTR feat. Nuria

I don’t know how
To walk away from this
It gets harder every day
My heart
Attempted indifference
Because I care too damn much
To only learn how to let go
Without giving up on everything
Including myself
Ball of potential
Mounted on an attic shelf
I want to be more
I don’t want to be me right now
But I don’t know what I want
They say grass seems greener
But I don’t need it to be
Just want some certainty
Maybe start over
Shake off this notion
They say, ‘try to be happy’
Not my cup of tea
Too much work for
Something that doesn’t last for me
So I’ll settle for complacency
I want to be more
I don’t want to be me right now
But I don’t know what I want
They say grass seems greener
But I don’t need it to be
Just want some certainty
Maybe start over
©2012 Nuria

 

You can read Nuria’s biography here and click here to hear another of her songs.

 

To hear more INTR, go here.

 

If you love the song as much as I do and would like to buy it on iTunes, click here.

 

I do not own any of these lyrics or the song. Credit goes to Nuria and INTR.
Leave a comment for LJ.

