Food Post: Tzatziki Sauce

Greetings readers, I have gotten back in the kitchen! As some of you know, I spent a semester overseas in Greece 4 years ago and fell in love with the country, and especially the food. This is my second attempt making this delicious cucumber sauce. I found a new recipe and it looked great so I gave it a shot. And it turned out to be delicious! This is my modified version of this recipe by Ina Garten (Barefoot Contessa).

Here’s a list of the ingredients:

  • 16 oz greek yogurt (get the strained kind)
  • 1 hothouse cucumber, peeled and seeded
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice (1 lemon)
  • 1 tablespoon good olive oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons minced dill
  • Pinch freshly ground black pepper

A word about the ingredients. The original recipe said for the cucumber to be unpeeled but I think the skin is kinda tough for a dip/sauce so I peeled mine. Also, I used a hothouse cucumber but 1 1/2-2 regular ones would probably work fine too! I used dried dill instead of fresh. You could probably use lemon juice from a bottle but I used fresh because I love the flavor it adds. If I had kosher or sea salt I would have used that but table salt worked fine too.

;

The method:

The original recipe calls for regular unstrained yogurt and requires you to strain it for 3-4 hours through a cheesecloth or paper towel sieve. I just bought the strained kind and it saved me 3-4 hours of waiting :). It also says to add the salt to the cucumber and put it in a paper towel sieve as well. I assume the salt draws the water out. I opted not to drain the cucumber for 3 hours. All this really means is you may have some liquid at the surface of the sauce when you pull it out of the fridge. Just give it a good still.

;

The photos:

1: Wash, peel, deseed, and chop the cucumber. If you have a chopper or food processor, use that. If you don’t want chunks of cucumber in your sauce, chop them very small. Then salt the cucumber.

2: Open the yogurt and pour out any liquid that may be on the surface. Add to a large bowl.

3: Add the salted cucumber, the garlic, the olive oil, the vinegar, the lemon juice, the dill and the sour cream. Basically the rest of the ingredients. Oh and the pepper. So yeah, add all of it.

4: Stir it all together, mixing it well. You want all the liquid and the yogurt/sour cream mixed together well so you don’t get a bite of just yogurt or just sour cream. Maybe this goes without saying, lol.

ADDITIONAL NOTE: it has a lot of salt so start with less than is called for and add more if you want more!

And, you’re done! Serve immediately or chill it for a while and let the ingredients blend well. Serve it with pita bread or another flat bread, or on chicken or with potatoes of some kind. Enjoy, it tastes great!

And questions or comments, post them below and I’ll get back to you asap.

 

5 thoughts on “Food Post: Tzatziki Sauce

    • Disclaimer: my wonderful husband set me up a gravatar account and picked the picture of the helicopter. That’s why in my response to you there is a helicopter shooting missiles. It’s very weird so I wanted to explain myself. haha.

      • Heather- thanks for the comment and for visiting my site! You should totally try it, just be careful with the salt :)

        And that is hilarious, I really didnt think much of it when I saw your picture haha!

Leave a comment for LJ.

