The Art of Blogging

Blogging is an interesting thing. It’s a mix of simply writing for your own satisfaction and enjoyment and writing hoping that someone else will read and enjoy what you write. As someone who has been blogging for several years, I can tell you that it is necessary to realize the possibility that either a) no one will read your blog, or b) people will read it without really getting anything out of it. And then, of course, there is the issue of feedback, or comments. I try to comment on friend’s blogs when I read them because I know how awesome it feels to get a comment on your writing. It tells you that someone cares enough to read, that they appreciate what you said and that (most importantly) it sparked something inside of them which compelled them to comment. Now, I think I know why people don’t usually comment. They don’t want others to read their thoughts, or they are just busy or whatever. But I also know that many people start blogging and quit because they don’t think anyone reads their posts. It is important to press onward and try to Be passionate about your blog whether you have tons of commenters and followers, or even if the only person who comments is your mom or dad. :)

In this day and age, we also have stats for our blogs. For those of you who don’t know, I can see statistics of how many views each of my posts and pages receive and, if you visit my blog by following a link from another site, which site referred you to my site. Another great feature I’m implementing into this blog for the first time is ratings – you can rate each entry on a scale from 1-5 stars (and I’m pretty sure this is anonymous but I’ve never tried it). Also, I’ve added some social media icons that appear under each post. You can “like” my posts through Facebook, or WordPress if you have an account with them. You can also reblog my posts in Tumblr if you have one.

Anyways, enough about the cool features and back to the art of blogging. Finding the right balance between writing for the benefit of yourself and writing for the benefit of others is key. It can’t be so self absorbed that no one can relate to it, but it has to be personal enough to reflect who you are through your words. So once you’ve gotten that balance and you’ve accepted that you will get hits on your site but maybe no comments, you are ready to go.

What I would love is to have more of a conversation in my blogs. Something where people comment on my thoughts and I comment on theirs and so forth. This could potentially be really cool but I doubt it will happen. Let me pause and say that if it sounds like I am just being really hard on people who don’t comment on my blogs, I am really sorry. That’s not my intention. I am more so trying to encourage others to embark on a blogging adventure themselves, and give them some small pieces of advice to do so.

It’s pretty much inevitable, though, to wonder what people are thinking when they read my posts and don’t comment. I wonder what the 40 something readers thought about my Bonnaroo Weekend post. Did they disagree? Relate? Did it interest them?

Luckily I am not going to stop blogging even if I don’t get responses, and that is mostly because I have stats to reassure me. Even people I don’t know, people outside the US read my posts sometimes. And that is enough to keep me going.

To those of you who love to write, those of you who have thought about starting a blog, let me say this: do it! Even though you may think you are insignificant or have nothing to share, you do. God created each of us with unique thoughts and experiences. Just share your heart. You never know who may read and who may be blessed by your thoughts. I am always amazed when someone tells me about how something I’ve written has affected them and I have to stop and praise God for his power…and how cool is it that he chooses to use everyone, even someone like me, to his glory?

I hope you feel inspired to write, to express, and to share with others. Sharing in life with others has been the most rewarding thing I’ve ever experienced.

Share with me in this experience of written/typed words?

Leave a comment for LJ.

