Inspiration

What inspires you?

Inspiration can come from anywhere. People, places, things, words, experiences….basically anything can be a source of inspiration. When I’m trying to get to know someone, I love to know what inspires them. It tells you a lot about that person and what they value and enjoy.

So, to answer my own question, here is what inspires me:

People. My friends, most specifically. They inspire me to be the best I can be and to never stop pursuing my heavenly Father’s will for my life. They inspire me to grow, move, change, all for the better. And they inspire me to be the best I can be without regretting what could have been.

Nature. The environment around me inspires me to pursue all that’s beautiful. It inspires me to be organic and real, simple and natural. Trees and clouds and leaves are my favorite parts of nature. I love to compare life to these things. I love to compare myself to a tree. Rooted in love, supported by the strength of many who have gone before me, and meant to branch out in love and encourage others. And nature inspires me to do this.

Words. I think words are the coolest things. One word can have so much power and meaning. Words are versatile and inspirational. They can give so much but they can also take so much away. Power is given to those who use them wisely. Words inspire me to think carefully and use them with caution. I am inspired to constantly learn new words and expand my vocabulary.

The life stories of others. I love hearing what God has done in the lives of others, whether I know them personally or not. But I think the coolest thing is to meet someone and then later find out their background. You never see it coming. I always underestimate God’s power and his ability to work through people’s lives in amazing ways. I am inspired by the experiences of others to find purpose in all of my pain and to share it with others so that they too may be encouraged by God’s work.

Music. If you know me at all, you knew this one would be on here. If you don’t know me well you should know that I am obsessed with music. All kinds. Even the occasional twangy country, even though its not my favorite. I love the sick beats and bass drops of dubstep, the rhythmic guitar progressions of acoustic rock and folk, and I love a screaming electric guitar riff. I love the brilliant and artistic lyrics. But I also love instrumental music in its raw beauty. But this isn’t a post about music, it’s about inspiration. Music inspires me to be creative and express myself. It reminds me of the human struggle and of the triumphantness of the gospel (yes I made that word up). More than anything, music inspires me to be me.

Good design. I am not a graphic designer but I have dabbled in web design and I love finding great designs and typography. I love colors and organization and sometimes even organized chaos on a screen or in print. I also love and appreciate brilliant product design (which is part of why I love Apple inc. products). Good design inspires me to be creative and innovative, ever learning and changing for the better. If you read my blog often you may notice that the design will change often because I love to change it up. Unfortunately right now I’m using a free theme and not something I’ve created because I don’t have the money for a hosted site. But maybe someday I will have the money needed to customize this site more to fit me. Anyways, back to how design inspires me – it keeps me looking for fresh ideas and a fresh perspective.

These are just a few things that inspire me. What inspires you?

 

2 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. You inspire me! I’m proud of you and love that you know what inspires you! I’ll think about it more and share more later about what inspires me.

Leave a comment for LJ.

